NEWS REPORT

2007 Awards of the International Society of Photosynthesis Research (ISPR)

Robert E. Blankenship

Received: 28 September 2007 / Accepted: 28 September 2007 © Springer Science+Business Media B.V. 2007

Introduction

Several awards were presented at the 14th International Congress on Photosynthesis Research, held in Glasgow, Scotland, UK from July 22–27, 2007. The various awards and prizes honor researchers at all stages of their careers. The ISPR awards were selected by a committee consisting of: Robert E. Blankenship, USA (Chairman and Past President of ISPR), Murray Badger, Australia, Neil Hunter, UK and Krishna Niyogi, USA. Poster prizes were selected by a committee chaired by John Golbeck (ISPR Secretary). Information on ISPR can be found at http://www.photo synthesisresearch.org/index.html.

ISPR awards

The ISPR award winners are shown in Fig. 1.

Robin Hill award

This award was initiated in 1998 by the Society to honor the contributions of Robin Hill to photosynthesis research. It is a monetary award made for outstanding investigations into physical aspects of the photosynthetic process to a scientist who is under 40 years of age on January 1st of the year of the presentation, or is less than 10 years from the granting of the doctoral degree. It is accompanied by a small gratuity, sponsored by Springer.

R. E. Blankenship (🖂)

Shared by:

Warwick Hillier, Photobioenergetics Group, Research School of Biological Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.

Awarded for studies of the Mn complex of Photosystem II.

Junko Yano, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA.

Awarded for studies of the Mn complex of Photosystem II.

Melvin Calvin award

This award was initiated in 1998 by the Society to honor the contributions of Melvin Calvin to photosynthesis research. It is a monetary award made for outstanding investigations into metabolic and cellular aspects of the photosynthetic process to a scientist who is under 40 years of age on January 1st of the year of the presentation, or is less than 10 years from the granting of the doctoral degree. It is accompanied by a small gratuity, sponsored by Springer.

Julian Hibberd, Plant Sciences Department, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK.

Awarded for novel approaches to understanding the evolution of C4 photosynthesis.

Innovation award

This award was given for the first time at PS07 in Glasgow. Recognizing the potential for insights from photosynthesis to contribute to progress in fields ranging from solar energy to global climate change, ISPR wishes to encourage its members to explore innovative practical applications of their results. The Award recognizes outstanding achievement in

Departments of Biology and Chemistry, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO 63130, USA e-mail: Blankenship@wustl.edu

Fig. 1 ISPR awards presentation at the 14th International Congress on Photosynthesis Research, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, July 22-27, 2007. Left to Right: Robert Blankenship (Past President, ISPR; Chair, Selection Committee for the Awards); Eva-Mari Aro (President, ISPR); Jan Anderson (Lifetime Achievement Award): Warwick Hillier (Robin Hill Award); Govindjee (Communication Award); Junko Yano (Robin Hill Award); Julian Hibberd (Melvin Calvin Award); Ulrich Schreiber (Innovation Award). The photograph is courtesy of Zhenling Sun



the transfer of photosynthesis research to the benefit of society at large, enhancing the visibility of the discipline in the process. It is accompanied by a small gratuity, sponsored by LI-COR Biosciences.

Ulrich Schreiber, Walz, Inc., Germany.

Awarded for the development of the Pulse Amplitude Modulation (PAM) chlorophyll fluorescence technique.

Communication award

This award was initiated in 2003 by the Society to recognize important service in communication and outreach to the general public on topics pertaining to photosynthesis. It confers life-membership of ISPR.

Govindjee, Department of Plant Biology, University of Illinois, Urbana, USA.

Awarded for tireless efforts in communicating photosynthesis to broad audiences using papers, books and electronic means.

Lifetime achievement award

This award was initiated in 2003 by the Society to recognize exceptional career-long contributions to understanding the process of photosynthesis. This award confers life membership in the ISPR, and recognizes meritorious work in photosynthesis research to an individual who is at least 60 years old. It confers life-membership of ISPR.

Jan Anderson, Research School of Biological Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.

For a lifetime of research on the composition and activities of photosynthetic membranes.

Poster prizes

Agrisera awards

Hideyuki Adachi et al. (Okayama University) for PS4.40 "Purification and crystallization of PSII complexes from a red alaga (*Cyanadinium*)."

Andrea Bräutigam et al. (Universität Düsseldorf-Michigan State University, Germany and USA) for PS10.22 "Comparative proteomics of C3 and C4 mesophyll chloroplast envelopes and characterization of a novel transport protein, Mep 1."

Walz award

Hardy Schön et al. (Universität Münster, Münster, Germany) for PS25.95 The role of light and photosynthesis during pathogen defense in tobacco leaves.

Poster book prizes (Books donated by Govindjee):

Dimitri Shevela et al. (Max-Planck Institüt at Mülheim, Germany) for PS4.61 "Hydrogencarbonate binding to Photosystem II" [Donated book: "Photosystem I", edited by John Golbeck, Volume 24, Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration (Series Ed, Govindjee)].

Ben Long et al. (Australian National University, Australia) for PS 9.14 "A Structural role for CcmM in betacarboxysome shell formation" [Donated book: "Chlorophylls...", edited by B. Grimm et al., Volume 25, Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration (Series Ed, Govindjee)].

Hiroyuki Ishida et al. (Tohoku University, Japan) for PS 19.8 "Visualisation of Rubisco-containing bodies

derived from chloroplasts in living cells of Arabidopsis" [Donated book: "Photoinhibition and Photoprotection, etc", edited by Barbara Demmig-Adams et al., Volume 21, Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration (Series Ed, Govindjee)].

Georgia Zahariou et al. (Institute of Materials Science NCSR, Athens, Greece) for PS4.56 "Temperature Dependence of the intermediate states of Photosystem II" [Donated book: "Discoveries in photosynthesis", edited by Govindjee et al., Volume 20, Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration (Series Ed, Govindjee)].

A Report and several photographs related to these awards and other educational and outreach activities at the 14th International Congress of Photosynthesis, Glasgow, are available in October, 2007, Bulletin of SEB (Society for Experimental Biology, http://www.sebiology.org), UK, on pages 10–17.

This News Report was invited and accepted for publication by the Historical Corner Editor Govindjee.