Faculty Research

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 

Ainsworth, Lisa
Departments of Plant Biology and USDA

147 ERML
217/ 265-9887

ainswort@illinois.edu

Plant molecular and physiological responses to climate change; leaf growth dynamics

Bohnert, Hans J.
Departments of Plant Biology and Crop Sciences
192 ERML
hbohnert@illinois.edu
Genome-wide gene expression profiles; plant tolerance parameters: drought, salinity and low temperature; engineering tolerance. 
Briskin, Donald P.
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
230 ERML
217/ 244-1115
dbriskin@illinois.edu
Biochemistry of medicinal plants; effects of growth environment on phytomedicinal chemical production by plants; pathways of secondary product metabolism; simulation modeling of plant biochemical processes.  
Caetano-Anolles, Gustavo
Department of Crop Sciences
332 National Soybean Research Cntr.
217/ 333-8172
gca@illinois.edu
Plant bioinformatics, evolution of macromolecular structure and biological networks, links between function and structure in RNA, molecular diversity and the spontaneous mutation process, interaction of plants and microbes.  

Cheeseman, John M.
Department of Plant Biology
283 Morrill
217/ 333-2385

j-cheese@illinois.edu

Control and integration of resource acquisition and allocation in plants; organismal physiology, photosynthesis, and nutrient transport; mathematical modeling.
Clough, Steven J.
Department of Crop Sciences and USDA
612 NSRC, Mailbox 3
sjclough@illinois.edu
Genomic and molecular analyses of plant microbe interactions.
Crofts, Antony R.
Center for Biophysics & Computational Biology and Department of Biochemistry
149 Davenport Hall
217/ 333-2043

crofts@illinois.edu

Structure/function relationships in photosynthetic energy conversion; structure of membrane proteins; mechanism of energy conservation; photosynthesis in intact plants.

DeLucia, Evan H.
Department of Plant Biology

217/ 333-6177
delucia@illinois.edu

Physiological ecology of vascular plants; photosynthesis; plant architecture; stress; climate change.
Domier, Les
Department of Crop Sciences
N-431 Turner
217/ 333-0510

ldomier@illinois.edu
Mechanisms by which selected oat plants are able to tolerate infection by barley yellow dwarf viruses.  
Engeseth, Nicki
Department of Food Science & Human Nutrition
259 ERML
217/ 244-6788
engeseth@illinois.edu
Chemical and biochemical reactions in food products; improvement of food quality.  
Hartman, Glen L.
Department of Crop Sciences
70 Natl. Soybean Res. Cntr.
217/ 244-3258

ghartman@illinois.edu
Biology and ecology of soybean pathogens with emphasis on pathogenic variation; disease development and spread, and how pathogens and the diseases they cause affect the quality and quantity of soybean yields; existence, nature, and genetics of host resistance in the soybean germplasm and  in other Glycine species.
 
Huber, Steven C.
Departments of Crop Sciences, Plant Biology and USDA
197 ERML
217/ 265-0909

schuber1@illinois.edu
Primary C/N-metabolism in source and sink tissues, including the role of protein phosphorylation in regulation of enzyme activity, localization and degradation; biological mechanisms that control soybean seed protein and oil composition.
Hudson, Matthew.
Department of Crop Sciences
334 NSRC
217/ 244-8096
mhudson@illinois.edu
Bioinformatics and genomics of plants; light responses in plants; transcriptional control networks; computational biology of plant light responses.
Jacobs, Thomas W.
Department of Plant Biology
192 ERML
217/ 333-1518

t-jacobs@illinois.edu
Connections between cell division and development in higher plants; cell cycle control; signal transduction; meristem formation and development.
Juvik, John A.
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
307 ERML
217/ 333-1966
juvik@illinois.edu
Vegetable genetics and breeding, physiological genetics of vegetable quality, insect/host plant interactions.  
Korban, Schuyler S.
Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
310 ERML
217/ 333-8298

korban@illinois.edu
Plant-based vaccines; genomics; gene expression and regulation; gene transfer; disease resistance; flowering and fruiting; DNA methylation; phytoremediation.  
Lambert, Kris
Department of Crop Sciences
N-423 Turner
217/ 265-5165
knlamber@illinois.edu
Molecular biology of plant-nematode interactions.  
Leakey, Andrew
Department of
Plant Biology
1402 Institute for Genomic Biology
217/ 244-0302
leakey@illinois.edu
Molecular and Physiological regulation of plant responses to the environment    
Long, Stephen P.
Departments of Plant Biology and Crop Sciences
379 ERML
217/ 333-2487

slong@illinois.edu
Environmental physiology; global atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation; C4 photosynthesis; energy crops; mathematical models of photosynthesis.

Ming, Ray
Department of Plant Biology
1201 W. Gregory Drive

148 ERML
217/ 333-1221

rayming@illinois.edu

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane,
coffee and pineapple
 
Moose, Steve
Department of Crop Sciences
359 ERML
217/ 244-6308
smoose@illinois.edu
Functional genomics of carbon/nitrogen metabolism and seed composition in maize; molecular genetic analysis of leaf development in maize.
Ort, Donald R.
Department of Plant Biology and USDA
148 ERML
217/ 333-2093

d-ort@illinois.edu
Molecular/biochemical basis for environmental limitations on photosynthesis; photosynthetic energy transduction.
Riechers, Dean
Department of Crop Sciences
N-331 Turner
217/ 333-4424

riechers@illinois.edu
Crop and weed responses to herbicide stress; herbicide safeners; soybean response to plant growth regulator herbicides; herbicide resistance.
Sachs, Marty
Department of Crop Sciences and USDA
S-108 Turner
217/ 244-0064
msachs@illinois.edu
Anaerobic stress response in maize; maize molecular genetics.
Schuler, Mary A.
Departments of Cell & Developmental Biology, Biochemistry, and Plant Biology
161 ERML
217/ 333-8784

maryschu@illinois.edu

Plant pre-mRNA splicing; transcriptional regulation and molecular modeling of plant and insect P450 monooxygenases; functional genomics.

 
Seigler, David S.
Department of Plant Biology
633 Morrill, MC-116
217/ 333-7577

daveseig@illinois.edu
Phytochemistry; plant secondary metabolism; chemical ecology.
Tranel, Patrick
Department of Crop Sciences
360 ERML
217/ 333-1531
tranel@illinois.edu
Variability within weed species; molecular weed science; integrated pest management.
Vodkin, Lila O.
Department of Crop Sciences
384A ERML
217/ 244-6147
l-vodkin@illinois.edu
Gene isolation, regulation, and transfer in higher plants.  
Wraight, Colin A.
Center for Biophysics & Computational Biology and Department of Biochemistry
160 Davenport
217/ 333-1630

cwraight@illinois.edu
Electron and proton transport in proteins; molecular engineering of ligand-protein interactions.
Zhao, Frank
Department of Plant Pathology
288 Edward R. Madigan Laboratory
1201 W Gregory Ave
217/ 265-9822
zhao888@illinois.edu
Plant pathology,
Phytobacteriology,
and Molecular Plant
Microbe-Interactions
 
Zielinski, Raymond E.
Department of Plant Biology
249 Morrill
217/ 333-6785

rez@illinois.edu
Calmodulin; calcium-binding proteins; signal transduction; regulation of gene expression.
       
Home

School of Integrative Biology

University of Illinois
Updated 9/09/09