MCB 300
Microbiology
School of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
course home pagecourse contactUniversity of Illinois

 
Syllabus and Lectures Spring 2017

Professor Vanderpool

Dates Lectures Lecture Topics Assignments Slides Readings
Wed Jan 17 Lecture 1

Course Introduction and Policies

Why study Microbiology?
Homework 1 opens 11am closes 10am 1/24/18 pdf    pptx    Brock:
Fri Jan 19 Lecture 2

What makes a microbe?

Historical Perspectives
  pdf    pptx    Brock:
Mon Jan 22 Lecture3

What makes a microbe?

On Being Small
  pdf    pptx    Brock:
Wed Jan 24 Lecture 4

What makes a microbe?

Microbial Cell Structure 1
Homeowork 1 due at 10am pdf    pptx    Brock:
Fri Jan 26 Lecture 5

What makes a microbe?

Microbial Cell Structure 2

 

pdf    pptx    Brock:
Mon Jan 29

Lecture 6

iClicker 1

What makes a microbe?

Microbial Cell Structure 3

Homework 2 opens 11am closes 10am 2/65/18

pdf    pptx    Brock:
Wed Jan 31

Lecture 7

iClicker 2

Essential microbial processes:

Growth and Motility
  pdf    pptx   

Brock,

Fri Feb 2

Lecture 8

iClicker 3

Essential microbial processes:

Bacterial DNA Replication and Cell Division

 

pdf    pptx   

Brock,

Mon Feb 5

Lecture 9

iClicker 4

Essential microbial processes:

Gene Expression

Homework 2 due at 10am

pdf     pptx   

Brock,

Wed Feb 7

Lecture 10

iClicker 5

Essential microbial processes:

Mechanisms of Genetic Regulation
  pdf    pptx    Brock,
Fri Feb 9 Exam 1 Covers Lectures 2-10 Exam 1    
Mon Feb 12

Lecture 11

iClicker 6

Nutrient acquisition and conversions: Transport Homework 3 opens 11am closes 11am 2/19/18 pdf    pptx    Brock,
Wed Feb 14

Lecture 12

iClicker 7

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Chemotaxis
  pdf    pptx    Brock,
Fri Feb 16

Lecture 13

iClicker 8

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Metabolic Regulation and Metabolism 1

 

pdf    pptx    Brock,
Mon Feb 19

Lecture 14

iClicker 9

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Metabolism 2

Homework 3 due at 10am

pdf    pptx    Brock
Wed Feb 21

Lecture 15

iClicker 10

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Energy Generation 1

 

pdf    pptx   
Revised pdf    pptx   
Brock,
Fri Feb 23

Lecture 16

iClicker 11

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Energy Generation 2

 

pdf    pptx   

Brock,

Mon Feb 26

Lecture 17

iClicker 12

Nutrient acquisition and conversions:

Photosynthesis

Homework 4 opens 11am closes 10am 3/5/18

pdf    pptx    Brock,
Wed Feb 28

Lecture 18

iClicker 13

Complex activities of microbes:

Stress responses

 

pdf    pptx    Brock,
Fri Mar 2

Lecture 19

iClicker 14

Complex activities of microbes:

Quorum Sensing

 

pdf    pptx    Brock,
Mon Mar 5

Lecture 20

iClicker 15

Complex activities of microbes:

Development

Homework 4 due 10am

pdf    pptx    Brock,
Wed Mar 7 Exam 2 Covers Lectures 11-20 Exam 2    

Professor Blanke

Fri Mar 9 Lecture 21

Establishment of microbial communities–I:
The Role of Evolution in Establishing Community Structure

Course Drop Deadline

pdf    pptx     

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Practice Homework

Brock:
Mon Mar 12

Lecture 22

iClicker 16

Establishment of microbial communities–II: Rapid Change through Horizontal Gene Transfer

Homework 5 opens 11am closes 10am 3/26/18 Lectures 21-24

pdf    pptx  

Final Version
pdf    pptx

 

Brock:
Wed Mar 14

Lecture 23

iClicker 17

Who lives in and around us–I: Nature of Microbial Communities, &, Culture Independent Techniques

 

pdf    pptx  

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Mar 16 Lecture 24

Who lives in and around us–II: Exploring the Human Skin and Vaginal Microbiomes.

 

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Mar 19 Spring Break No Class    
Wed Mar 21 Spring Break No Class  
Fri Mar 23 Spring Break No Class    
Mon Mar 26

Lecture 25

iClicker 18

Who lives in and around us–III: Navigating the Human Gut Microbiome.

Homework 5 due 10am pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Wed Mar 28

Lecture 26

iClicker 19

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-I: Introduction to Infectious Diseases and Microbial Pathogenesis.

Homework 6 opens 11am closes 10am 4/4/18 Lectures 25-28

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Mar 30

Lecture 27

iClicker 20

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-II: Host Barriers to Microbial Interactions.

 

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Apr 2

Lecture 28

iClicker 21

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-III: Host Innate Defenses to Pathogenic Microbes.

  pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Wed Apr 4

Lecture 29

iClicker 22

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-IV: Host Adaptive Defenses to Pathogenic Microbes.

Homework 6 due 10am

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Apr 6

Lecture 30

iClicker 23

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-V: Studying the Virulence of Pathogenic Microbes - Koch's Postulates, Infection Models, & Identifying Virulence Factors.

 

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Apr 9 Exam 3 Covers Lectures 21-30 Exam 3    
Wed Apr 11

Lecture 31

iClicker 24

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-VI: Establishing an Infection within the Host - Immune Evasion and Colonization.

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Apr 13

Lecture 32

iClicker 25

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-VII: Invasion, Intracellular Survival, Dissemination, and Transmission.

Homework 7 opens 11am closes 10am 4/20/18 Lectures 31-34 pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Apr 15

Lecture 33

iClicker 26

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-VIII: Remodeling the Host into a Suitable Infection Microenvironment – the Amazing World of Bacterial Toxins. pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Wed Apr 18

Lecture 34

iClicker 27

Pathogenic Microbe-Host Interactions-IX: Fantastic Effectors and Where to Find Them.

 

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Apr 20

Lecture 35

iClicker 28

Controlling Bacterial Infections…or are we?: The Life and Death Business of Generating Effective Antimicrobials in the Face of Antimicrobial Resistance.

Homework 7 due 10am

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Apr 23

Lecture 36

iClicker 29

Going Viral-I: The Amazing Diversity of Viruses; How Form Follows Function.

Homework 8 opens 11am closes 10am 4/30/18 Lectures 35-38 pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Wed Apr 25

Lecture 37

iClicker 30

Going Viral-II: How Viruses cause Disease.

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Fri Apr 27

Lecture 38

iClicker 31

Going Viral-III: How Viruses of Microbes Shape Ecosystems.

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Mon Apr 30 Lecture 39

Eukaryotic Pathogens: Wayward Fungi, Mycoses, and a Hypothesis.

Homework 8 due 10am

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx

Brock:
Wed May 2 Lecture 40

Vaccines as the Real Game Changer: Next Generation Strategies to Prevent Microbial Diseases in Humans.

 

pdf    pptx   

Final Version
pdf    pptx
Brock:
Thu May 3 Reading Day No Class    
Wed May 9
7:000-10:00pm
Final Exam Covers Lectures 31-40 Rooms TBA