MCB 150
The Molecular and Cellular Basis of Life
School of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
murray@illinois.edu | mehrtens@illinois.edu
course home pagecourse contactUniversity of Illinois

 
Course Syllabus

  Orange dates indicate tentative traditional class periods
  Blue dates indicate tentative flipped class periods

Day

Lecture Topic

Reading Assignment

Discussion

Wednesday, January 18

Course Introduction

Freeman Chapters 1 and 2

No Discussions Meet this week!

 

 

Friday, January 20

Domains of Life; Cells and Molecules

Freeman Section 1.4, 7.1, 21.2, 29.1

Becker Chapter 4

Monday, January 23

Cells and Molecules; Carbohydrates

Freeman 7.2, 3.1, Chapter 5

Becker Chapter 4; Chapter 3 Section 3 (pages 60-65)

Discussion 1: Introduction/Pre-

Test

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday, January 25

Carbohydrates II

Freeman Chapter 5

Becker Chapter 3, Section 3

Friday, January 27

Amino Acids and Levels of Protein Organization

Freeman Chapter 3

Becker Chapter 3, Section 1

Monday, January 30

Denaturation of Proteins; Enzymes and Enzyme Inhibition

(Add Courses, Section Change Deadline 5:00 PM)

Freeman Chapter 3, Section 3.3; Chapter 3, Sections 8.1, 8.3, 8.4

Becker chapter 6, pages 129-138

Discussion 2: Proteins

Workbook 3.1

Also Useful for Exam 1 Preparation:

3.2, 3.3, 4.1, 5.1, 6.1,

Chap 3-6

Wednesday, February 1

Enzyme Inhibition continued; Nucleic Acids; Lipids

Freeman Chapter 4, Section 4.1; Chapter 6, Section 6.1

Becker Chapter 3, Nucleic Acids

Friday, February 3

Lipids & Biomembranes

Freeman Chapter 6, Sections 6.2, 6.3, and 6.4

Becker Chapter 7 (optional)

 

 

 

 

Monday, February 6

Biomembranes & Metabolism I

Freeman Chapter 6, Section 6.2; Chapter 8, Sections 8.1, 8.2

Becker Chapter 7 (optional)

Discussion 3: Problem Solving I

 

Wednesday, February 8

 

Optional In-Class Review

 

 

 

Thursday, February 9

 

Exam I (7-9 PM)

 

 

Friday, February 10

Metabolism II

Freeman Chapter 9, Sections 9.1 through 9.4

 

 

 

 

Day

Lecture Topic

Reading Assignment

Discussion

Monday, February 13

Metabolism III – ETC, Fermentation and Summary

Freeman Chapter 9, Sections 9.5, 9.6

 

Discussion 4: Metabolism

Wednesday, February 15

DNA Structure and Organization I

Freeman Chapter 4, Section 4.2; chapter 15, Section 15.1

Becker Chapter 3, Page 59, Box 3A (pages 60-61)

Workbook 9.1, 9.2, 9.3

Friday, February 17

DNA Structure and Organization II

Freeman Chapter 19, Page 350

Becker Chapter 18, Pages 512-517 and 527 (DNA Packaging – 533 (and Figure 18-22 on page 534)

 

 

 

 

 

Monday, February 20

DNA Replication I

Freeman Chapter 15, Section 15.2-15.4

Becker Chapter 19, pages 564-566

Discussion 5: DNA Organization

Wednesday, February 22

DNA Replication II – Primer Synthesis and Removal, Directionality, and Clean-Up

Freeman Chapter 15, Sections 15.3 and 15.4

Meselson/

Stahl Experiment

Friday, February 24

Transcription in Bacteria

Freeman Chapter 17, Section 17.1

Becker Chapter 21, pages 656-660

 

 

 

Monday, February 27

Transcription in Eukaryotes; RNA Processing I

Freeman Chapter 17, Section 17.2

Becker Chapter 21, pages 660-664; pages 667-675

Discussion 6: Replication/

Transcription

Wednesday, March 1

RNA Processing II; The Genetic Code

Freeman Chapter 16, Sections 16.2 and 16.3

Becker Chapter 21, pages 667-675

Workbook 15.1, 15.2, 15.3

Friday March 3

Translation I

Freeman Chapter 17, Sections 17.3-17.5

Becker Chapter 22, pages 679-684

Also Useful for Exam 2 Prep: Chap 16-17 & The Big Picture p. 366

 

Monday, March 6

Translation II, Nuclear Structure & Domains I

Freeman Chapter 17, Section 17.5

Becker Chapter 18, pages 536--538

Discussion 7: Problem Solving II

 

Wednesday, March 8

 

Optional In-Class Review

 

 

Thursday, March 9

 

Exam II (7-9 PM)

 

Friday, March 10

(Course Drop Deadline)

Functional Nuclear Domains II

 

Freeman Chapter 12, Section 12.1

Becker Chapter 18, pages 543-544

Day

Lecture Topic

Reading Assignment

Discussion

Monday, March 13

The Nucleolus, Mutations I

Freeman Chapter 15, Section 15.5

Becker Chapter 18, pages 543-544

Discussion 8: Sanger Sequencing

Wednesday, March 15

Mutations II

Freeman Chapter 15, Section 15.5; Chapter 16, Section 16.4

Becker Chapter 19, pages 567-571; Chapter 22, pages 694-695

 

Friday, March 17

Mutations III

Nucleo-Cytoplasmic Transport I

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.4

Becker Chapter 18, pages 536-543

 

 

 

 

 

 

March 20-24 No Classes – Spring Vacation

 

Monday, March 27

Nucleo-Cytoplasmic Transport II, Mitochondria

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.4

Becker Chapter 18, pages 533-543; Chapter 22, pages 702-705

Discussion 9: Jeopardy

Wednesday, March 29

The Secretory Pathway

The Endoplasmic Reticulum I

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.5

Becker Chapter 12, pages 324-326; Chapter 22, pages 696-699

 

Friday, March 31

The Endoplasmic Reticulum II

Becker Chapter 12, pages 330-332; Chapter 22, pages 699-702

 

 

 

Monday, April 3

The Golgi Apparatus

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.5

Becker Chapter 12, pages 332-341

Discussion 10: Lecture Review

Wednesday, April 5

Lysosome & Endosomes

Freeman Chapter 7, page 114, Seciton 7.5

Friday, April 7

Cytoskeleton I - Actin Filaments

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.6

Becker Chapter 15, pages 422-424 and 433-436

 

Monday, April 10

Cytoskeleton II – Actin & Myosin

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.6

Becker Chapter 16, pages 459-471

Discussion 11: Problem Solving III

 

Wednesday, April 12

 

Optional In-Class Review

 

 

Thursday, April 13

 

Exam III (7-9 PM)

 

Friday, April 14

Cytoskeleton III - Microtubules

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.6, pages 129-130

Becker Chapter 15, pages 424-431

 

 

Day

Lecture Topic

Reading Assignment

Discussion

Monday, April 17

Cytoskeleton IV – Centrosomes, Centrioles & Cilia

Freeman Chapter 7, Section 7.6

Becker Chapter 15, pages 430-431; Chapter 16, pages 449-459

Discussion 12: Viruses

Wednesday, April 19

Cell Cycle Introduction

Freeman Chapter 12, Section 12.1 and 12.2

Becker Chapter 19, pages 549-551 and 571-579

 

Friday, April 21

The Events of M-Phase

Freeman Chapter 12, Section 12.1 and 12.2

Becker Chapter 19, pages 549-551 and 571-579

 

Monday, April 24

Genetic Regulation in Bacteria

Freeman Chapter 18, Section 18.1 – 18.3

Discussion 13: Problem Solving Final Exam

Wednesday, April 26

Genetic Regulation in Bacteria

Viruses I

Freeman Chapter 18, Section 18.1-18.3; Chapter 36 pages 711-716

 

Friday, April 28

Viruses II

Freeman Chapter 36 pages 716-722

 

 

Monday, May 1

Recombinant DNA & Genetic Engineering I

Freeman Chapter 20, Section 20.1

No Discussions this week!

Wednesday, May 3

Recombinant DNA & Genetic Engineering II

Freeman Chapter 20, Section 20.1

 

 

Thursday, May 4

 

Reading Day: No Classes

 

 

Monday, May 8

 

Final Exam 7:00 – 10:00 PM