Graduate Students in the Hanks Lab

August 2015 (Clockwise from left): Joe, Natalie, Judy (Lab Manager), Suzanne (tech), Xander, Todd, Linnea


Current Students

Natalie Diesel (MS student)

  • diesel2@illinois.edu

Alexander Hazel (MS student)

  • Analysis of pollen-feeding in the subfamily Cerambycinae
  • xhazel@illinois.edu

Todd Johnson (PhD student) [website]

  • Biology and chemical ecology of cerambycid parasitoids
  • tdjohns2@illinois.edu

Linnea Meier (PhD student) [website]

  • Effects of habitat fragmentation on longhorned beetle community ecology
  • lrmeier2@life.illinois.edu

Joe Wong (PhD student) [website]

  • Feeding ecology of longhorned beetles
  • wong62@life.illinois.edu

Lab Alumni

Tom Schmeelk

  • MS 2015: "Effect of trap height on abundance and species diversity of cerambycid beetles captured in forests of east-central Illinois"
  • schmeel2@illinois.edu

Christina Silliman

  • MS 2014: "Factors contributing to variation in cuticular hydrocarbon profiles of two species of longhorned beetles (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)"
  • PhD student, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • sillima2@illinois.edu

Rob Mitchell

  • MS, PhD 2012: "Chemical communication in cerambycid beetles and the molecular basis of olfaction"
  • Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
  • rfmitchell@email.arizona.edu

Ken Robinson

  • MS 2011: "Avoidance of cross-attraction among sympatric and synchronic species of cerambycid beetles that share pheromone components"
  • Associate Scientist, AbbVie Pharmaceuticals, Abbott Park, IL

Becca Striman

  • MS 2010: "Seasonal and diel periodicity of Cerambycid beetles in east-central Illinois: the potential for cross attraction"
  • PhD student, Biology Department, University of Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Liz Graham

  • PhD 2010: "Host plant relationships and chemical communication in the cerambycidae"
  • Entomologist, USDA Forest Service, Anchorage, AK
  • eegraham@fs.fed.us

Matthew Richardson

  • PhD 2009: "Species composition and genetic structure of grassland plant communities and their influence on spiders and herbivorous insects"
  • Biologist, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute, Washington, DC
  • richardsonm@si.edu

Annie Ray

Pete Reagel

  • MS, PhD 2009: "Effects of natural enemies and host condition on populations of insect pests of trees"
  • Entomologist, USDA-APHIS-PPQ, Laredo, TX
  • Peter.F.Reagel@aphis.usda.gov

Dominic Philpott

  • MS 2007: "Molecular validation of a morphological character for distinguishing between the armored scale insects Chionaspis pinifoliae and C. heterophyllae (Hemiptera: Diaspididae)"
  • Dentist, Comfort Dental, Northglenn, CO
  • northglenn@comfortdental.biz

Emerson Lacey

  • MS, PhD 2007: "Chemical ecology of the Clytini (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)"
  • Staff Research Associate, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
  • emerson.lacey@ucr.edu

Emily Kluger Glasberg

  • MS 2007: "Effects of habitat fragmentation and host plant community composition on genetic structure and population dynamics of the prairie-endemic weevil Haplorhynchites aeneus (Boehman)"
  • Key Account Manager/Entomologist, Clarke, Chicago, IL

Ashley Bennett

  • MS 2003: "Conservation biological control of pine needle scale (Homoptera: Diaspididae) in ornamental landscapes"
  • R&D statistician, Syngenta, Greensboro, NC
  • Ashley.Bennett@syngenta.com

Erin Grossman

  • MS 2003: "Impact of tree water stress on herbivorous insects in urban ecosystems"
  • PPQ Officer/Instructor, USDA-APHIS-PPQ, Frederick, MD
  • Erin.M.Otto@aphis.usda.gov

John Tooker

Matt Ginzel

  • MS, PhD 2003: "Chemically-mediated mate location and recognition in longhorned beetles (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)"
  • Associate Professor, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • http://www.entm.purdue.edu/forest/

Jodie A. Ellis

  • MS 2001: "An evaluation of conservation biological control of evergreen bagworm (Lepidoptera: Psychidae)"
  • Executive Director, Board of Veterinary Medicine, State of Idaho, Boise, ID
  • jodie.ellis@agri.idaho.gov
  • http://www.bovm.idaho.gov/

Rob Moore

  • MS 2001: "Dispersal and population regulation of the evergreen bagworm, Thyridopteryx ephemeraeformis (Haworth) (Lepidoptera: Psychidae)"
  • Medical Entomologist, US Army (retired)