Current Students

Todd Johnson (PhD student)

  • Biology and chemical ecology of cerambycid parasitoids
  • tdjohns2@illinois.edu
  • web page

Linnea Meier (PhD student)

  • Pheromone chemistry and ecology of the subfamily Lamiinae
  • lrmeier2@life.illinois.edu
  • web page

Lab Alumni

Natalie Diesel

  • MS 2017: 1-(1H-Pyrrol-2-yl)-1,2-propanedione is a crucial pheromone component of the rare North American cerambycid beetle Dryobius sexnotatus
  • diesel2@illinois.edu

Alexander Hazel (MS student)

  • MS 2017: Identifying hosts of cerambycid beetles using palynology

Joe Wong

  • PhD 2016: Host plant associations and chemical ecology of Cerambycidae
  • joseph.c.wong@gmail.com

Tom Schmeelk

  • MS 2015: Effect of trap height on abundance and species diversity of cerambycid beetles captured in forests of east-central Illinois
  • Entomologist Assistant
  • New York Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Tom.schmeelk@dec.ny.gov

Christina Silliman

  • MS 2014: Factors contributing to variation in cuticular hydrocarbon profiles of two species of longhorned beetles (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)
  • PhD student, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • sillima2@illinois.edu

Rob Mitchell

  • MS, PhD 2012: Chemical communication in cerambycid beetles and the molecular basis of olfaction
  • Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
  • mitchellr@uwosh.edu
  • website

Ken Robinson

  • MS 2011 (Program in Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology): Avoidance of cross-attraction among sympatric and synchronic species of cerambycid beetles that share pheromone components
  • Associate Scientist, AbbVie Pharmaceuticals, Abbott Park, IL

Becca Striman

  • MS 2010: Seasonal and diel periodicity of Cerambycid beetles in east-central Illinois: the potential for cross attraction
  • PhD student, Biology Department, University of Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Liz Graham

  • PhD 2010: Host plant relationships and chemical communication in the cerambycidae
  • Entomologist, USDA Forest Service, Anchorage, AK
  • eegraham@fs.fed.us

Matthew Richardson

  • PhD 2009: Species composition and genetic structure of grassland plant communities and their influence on spiders and herbivorous insects
  • Assistant Director of Urban Agriculture, University of the District of Columbia, Washington, DC
  • matthew.richardson@udc.edu

Annie Ray

  • MS, PhD 2009: Evolution and taxonomic distribution of volatile pheromones in cerambycine longhorned beetles
  • Associate Professor, Xavier University, Cincinnati, OH
  • raya6@xavier.edu
  • website

Pete Reagel

  • MS, PhD 2009: Effects of natural enemies and host condition on populations of insect pests of trees
  • Entomologist, USDA-APHIS-PPQ, Laredo, TX
  • Peter.F.Reagel@aphis.usda.gov

Dominic Philpott

  • MS 2007: Molecular validation of a morphological character for distinguishing between the armored scale insects Chionaspis pinifoliae and C. heterophyllae (Hemiptera: Diaspididae)
  • Dentist, Comfort Dental, Northglenn, CO
  • northglenn@comfortdental.biz

Emerson Lacey

  • MS, PhD 2007: Chemical ecology of the Clytini (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)
  • Staff Research Associate, UC Riverside, Riverside, CA
  • emerson.lacey@ucr.edu

Emily Kluger Glasberg

  • MS 2007: Effects of habitat fragmentation and host plant community composition on genetic structure and population dynamics of the prairie-endemic weevil Haplorhynchites aeneus (Boehman)
  • Key Account Manager/Entomologist, Clarke, Chicago, IL

Ashley Bennett

  • MS 2003: Conservation biological control of pine needle scale (Homoptera: Diaspididae) in ornamental landscapes
  • Assistant professor, New Mexico State University, Cooperative Extension Service, Los Lunas, NM
  • abb@ad.nmsu.edu

Erin Grossman

  • MS 2003: Impact of tree water stress on herbivorous insects in urban ecosystems
  • PPQ Officer/Instructor, USDA-APHIS-PPQ, Frederick, MD
  • Erin.M.Otto@aphis.usda.gov

John Tooker

  • MS, PhD 2003: Multitrophic interactions in a prairie insect community: Ecology, behavior, and conservation
  • Associate Professor, Penn State University, State College, PA
  • tooker@psu.edu
  • website

Matt Ginzel

  • MS, PhD 2003: Chemically-mediated mate location and recognition in longhorned beetles (Coleoptera: Cerambycidae)
  • Associate Professor, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • mginzel@purdue.edu
  • website

Jodie A. Ellis

  • MS 2001: An evaluation of conservation biological control of evergreen bagworm (Lepidoptera: Psychidae)
  • Executive Director, Board of Veterinary Medicine, State of Idaho, Boise, ID
  • jodie.ellis@agri.idaho.gov
  • website

Rob Moore

  • MS 2001: Dispersal and population regulation of the evergreen bagworm, Thyridopteryx ephemeraeformis (Haworth) (Lepidoptera: Psychidae)
  • Medical Entomologist, US Army (retired)