DIRECTORY:    Faculty  |  Students  |  Staff  |  Alumni
Gene RobinsonGene Robinson elected to National Academy of Medicine

Congratulations to Dr. Gene Robinson for being elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Read more at Illinois News Bureau.

Alex Harmon-Threatt$1 Million Grant to Study Impact of Pesticides on Bees 

Congratulations to Dr. Alexandra Harmon-Threatt for receiving a $1 million grant to research the impact of pesticides on bee populations. Read more at SIB News.

Hugh RobertsonStudy Reveals Insects Have Odorant Receptors to Detect Airborne Odors

A new genomic study by Dr. Hugh Robertson and colleagues at the University of California-Davis reveals that all insects have odorant receptors that allow them to detect airborne chemicals in the pursuit of food and mates, and to identify enemies. Read more at Illinois News Bureau.

News Image 2018 Presidentís  Medal Winner -  SEBiology

Esther Ngumbi, a postdoctoral researcher in May Berenbaum's lab, will be awarded the 2018 Presidentís Medal from the Society for Experimental Biology at the societyís annual meeting in Florence, Italy, in July. Her research focuses on applied chemical ecology and the use of natural products for sustainable pest management and crop production. This award was announced in The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education.

News Image35th Annual IFFF 

The 35th Annual Insect Fear Film Festival took place on Saturday, February 24th, 2018 in Foellinger Auditorium. This year's theme was "Ticks". Short films shown included an episode of Ben 10 ("The Big Tick"), an episode of Soldiers of Fortune ("Bite of the Ruby Red"), and the feature film was the 1993 "Ticks". The evening also included our insect petting zoo and our annual insect art contest. More information on previous years and the art contest is found on the Entomology Graduate Student website or on Facebook.

Entomology Colloquium (full schedule)
Monday afternoons at 4:00 PM in B102 Auditorium, CLSL
Join the Entomology Colloquium mailing list here.
In other news

James Nardi 7/2/2018: Congratulations to Dr. James Nardi on the review "Bringing science into the garden" by Charles Goodrich, Ecological Society of America, of Dr. Nardi's new book, Discoveries in the garden, The University of Chicago Press.
4/20/2018: Tom Shanower, a Department of Entomology alumnus, was just named Acting Director of NIFA. Read about it here: Jacobs-Young Announces Shanower as Acting NIFA Director.
2/21/2018: You can read about the 35th Annual Insect Fear Film Festival at Smile Politely and PCT Magazine.
11/10/2017: Congratulations to the following students who won prizes for their 10-minute talks at the annual ESA meeting Entomology 2017: Aron Katz - 2nd place, Rachel Skinner - 2nd place, Selina Ruzi - 2nd place, and Dajia (Krisa) Ye - 1st place.
Adam Dolezal 11/1/2017: The entomology department at UIUC warmly welcomes the newest addition Ė Dr. Adam Dolezal! Dr. Dolezal joined the department at the beginning of November. His research investigates the interaction between environmental stressors, such as pesticides, parasites, and nutritional deficits, and honey bee health. His work combines elements of physiological development, transcriptomics, and insect behavior. He is also interested in collaborating will local bee keepers to improve practices and promote honey bee health.
News Image 9/18/2017: Expressions of appreciation of Stanley Friedman, who was the Head of the Entomology Department from 1975-1992, were conveyed from current and past faculty and students as well as family members and others in attendance during a Celebration of Life service in his honor in the Charles G. Miller Auditorium (B102 Chemical and Life Sciences Building). Remembrances from those who could not attend can be read here.

See more in the news archives.