header
DIRECTORY:    Faculty  |  Students  |  Staff  |  Alumni

Department Faculty


Line Faculty

Faculty Member Research E-mail Address
Brian F. Allan, PhD (Washington U. St. Louis) Disease ecology, medical entomology, conservation medicine ballan@illinois.edu
May R. Berenbaum, PhD (Cornell) Department Head, insect plant interactions, ecology, evolution maybe@illinois.edu
Stewart H. Berlocher, PhD (U. Texas) Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution stewartb@illinois.edu
Sydney Cameron, PhD (U. Kansas) Social insect behavior, evolution, and ecology, phylogenetic theory sacamero@illinois.edu
Adam G. Dolezal, PhD (Arizona State U) How environmental stressors interact to affect bee health adolezal@illinois.edu
Bettina M. Francis, PhD (U. Michigan) Environmental and developmental toxicology bfrancis@illinois.edu
Larry Hanks, PhD (U. Maryland) Chemical ecology and conservation biological control hanks@illinois.edu
Alexandra Harmon-Threatt, PhD (UC Berkeley)
Plant-pollinator ecology and conservation aht@illinois.edu
Gene E. Robinson, PhD (Cornell) Insect social behavior and genomics generobi@illinois.edu
Andy Suarez, PhD (UC San Diego) Invasive species suarez2@illinois.edu
James Whitfield, PhD (UC Berkeley) Systematics and ecology of Braconidae, polydnavirus evolution jwhitfie@illinois.edu


Academic Professionals

Professional Research E-mail Address
Marianne Alleyne, PhD (U. Illinois) Host-parasitoid interactions vanlaarh@illinois.edu
Samuel N. Beshers, PhD (Boston U.) Organization of biological systems, social insects beshers@illinois.edu
James B. Nardi, PhD (Harvard) Insect development and structure j-nardi@illinois.edu


Affiliates

Affiliate Research E-mail Address
Carla Cáceres, PhD (Cornell U.) Eco-evolutionary feedbacks on community assembly; community ecology of disease cecacere@illinois.edu
Mark A. Davis, PhD (U. Illinois) Phylogenetics, conservation genetics, population genetics, genomics, environmental DNA davis63@illinois.edu
R. Edward DeWalt, PhD (U. North Texas) Taxonomy, ecology, conservation of aquatic insects dewalt@illinois.edu
Christopher H. Dietrich, PhD (NC State) Systematics of Membracoidea, biodiversity, conservation chdietr@illinois.edu
Sam Heads, PhD (U. Portsmouth) Systematics, paleontology, and evolution of insects, particularly Orthoptera swheads@illinois.edu
Kevin Johnson, PhD (U. Minnesota) Insect systematics, coevolution, biogeography kpjohnso@illinois.edu
Eric Larson, PhD (U. Washington) Freshwater ecology, invasion biology, and conservation science erlarson@illinois.edu
Thomas McElrath, PhD (U. Georgia) Insect Collections Manager, insect systematics, evolution, biodiversity, insect conservation tcm@illinois.edu
Brenda Molano-Flores, PhD (U. Iowa) Plant-animal interactions molano1@illinois.edu
Susan Ratcliffe, PhD (U. Illinois) Integrated pest management sratclif@illinois.edu
David J. Riecks-Soucek, PhD (VPI) Aquatic ecotoxicology soucek@illinois.edu
Daniel W. Schneider, PhD (U. Wisconsin) Community ecology of aquatic invertebrates ddws@illinois.edu
Mary A. Schuler, PhD (Cornell) Molecular biology, pre-mRNA processing, plant and insect P-450s maryschu@illinois.edu
Saurabh Sinha, PhD Bioinformatics and computational biology sinhas@illinois.edu
Joseph L. Spencer, PhD (Mich. State) Mechanisms of behavior in crop insect pests spencer1@illinois.edu
Chris M. Stone, PhD (Ohio State) Medical entomology; mosquito-borne pathogen transmission and control cstone@illinois.edu
Tandy Warnow, PhD (UC - Berkeley) Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics warnow@illinois.edu


Emeriti

Emeritus Research E-mail Address
Fred Delcomyn, PhD (U. Oregon) Locomotion and physiology of insects, computer simulation and robotic engineering/modeling delcomyn@illinois.edu
Michael E. Gray, PhD (Iowa State) Integrated pest management megray@illinois.edu
Michael E. Irwin, PhD (UC - Riverside) Systematics and biogeography of Diptera and plant pathogen vector research meirwin@illinois.edu
Richard L. Lampman, PhD (U. Illinois) Chemical ecology of insects
Eli Levine, PhD (Ohio State) levinee@illinois.edu
Hugh M. Robertson, PhD (U. Witwatersrand) Molecular biology and genomics hughrobe@illinois.edu
Steve Taylor, PhD (SIU - Carbondale) Biology, conservation and management of cave and karst invertebrates, biology of Heteroptera sjtaylor@illinois.edu
David Voegtlin, PhD (UC - Berkeley) Biology and taxonomy of aphids dvoegtli@illinois.edu
Gilbert P. Waldbauer, PhD (U. Illinois)
Richard A. Weinzierl, PhD (Oregon State) Integrated pest management weinzier@illinois.edu
Judith Willis, PhD (Harvard)