Content Splash Image
Faculty | Affiliates | Emeriti



Physiology & Development Evolution & Systematics Behavior
Ecology Genetics & Biochemistry


 Faculty

Philip Anderson
Assistant Professor
113 Shelford Vivarium

andersps@illinois.edu

  Comparative evolutionary biomechanics in both vertebrates and invertebrates, particularly to examine how the laws of physics and mechanics influence evolutionary processes; combining kinematics and fracture mechanics to examine the evolution of biological cutting/puncture systems; biomechanical and morphological diversification in deep-time; evolution of multi-part biomechanical systems; paleobiomechanics

Alison M. Bell
Associate Professor
439 Morrill Hall
(217) 265-5469

alisonmb@illinois.edu

  Intraspecific behavioral variation; ecological and evolutionary implications of behavioral syndromes in threespined sticklebacks; behavioral ecology.

Carla E. Caceres
Professor
433 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-2139

caceres@life.illinois.edu

  Population, community and evolutionary ecology; life-history evolution; ecology of infectious disease; limnology.

Julian Catchen
Assistant Professor
233 Morrill Hall

jcatchen@illinois.edu

  Evolution of the genome; identifying large structural variation in populations of threespine stickleback using a synthesis of genetic mapping, genome assembly, and mate-pair sequencing.

C.-H. Christina Cheng
Professor
17E Burrill Hall
(217) 333-4245

c-cheng@illinois.edu

Molecular evolution of fish antifreeze protein genes, particularly evolutionary origins and molecular mechanisms of new gene genesis; temporal relationship between evolution of antifreeze function and paleobiogeography of polar regions; evolution of the marine species flock of Antarctic Notothenioid fishes; molecular cytogenetics of Antarctic notothenioids and northern cod fishes. Field research in Antarctica and the Arctic.

Rebecca C. Fuller
Associate

Professor
104 Shelford Vivarium
(217) 333-9065

fuller@life.illinois.edu

  Animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; sensory bias model of sexual selection in killifish

Jonathan D. Marcot
Assistant Professor
203 Shelford Vivarium
(217) 244-6826

jmarcot@life.illinois.edu

  Biologic diversification, particularly morphologic, molecular and taxonomic evolution of fossil and living artiodactyl mammals; paleontology; evolution of biologic complexity; phylogenetic methods

Ken N. Paige
Professor
483 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-6606

k-paige@life.illinois.edu

  Plant-animal interaction with an empasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology.

Karen E. Sears
Associate Professor
465 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-7724

ksears@life.illinois.edu

  Evolutionary developmental biology, particularly combining paleontology, developmental biology and genetics to examine the developmental mechanisms that drive morphologic diversification in mammals.

Andrew V. Suarez
Professor and Head
515 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-6631

suarez2@illinois.edu

  Ant ecology and behavior; Biological invasions.


 Affiliates

Jeffrey D. Brawn
Professor
NRES, W-503 Turner Hall
(217) 244-5937

jbrawn@illinois.edu

  Conservation Biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology.

Kathryn Clancy
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology

kclancy@illinois.edu

  Human reproductive ecologist who specializes in women's health, endometrial function and evolutionary medicine. Dr. Clancy's work challenges assumptions about what constitutes normal reproductive physiology, and clinical threshold hypotheses regarding health.

Edward Heske
Mammalian Ecologist, INHS

eheske@illinois.edu

  Population and community ecology of mammals; consequences of habitat fragmentation for mammaliam species diversity and population dynamics; mammalian social organization; desert rodent ecology; conservation biology.

Kevin Johnson
Affiliate
1816 S. Oak St., MC-652
(217) 244-9267

kpjohnso@illinois.edu

  Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography.

Ronald Larkin
Wildlife Ecologist, INHS

r-larkin@illinois.edu

  Wildlife ecology in disturbed environments; avian migration, orientation, energetics, and communication; small-scale atmospheric motions and flying animals.

Ripan Malhi
Assistant Professor, Anthropology

malhi@illinois.edu

  Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities. Use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; American Southwest and Central Mexico.

David Philipp
Conservation Geneticist, INHS

philipp@illinois.edu

  Fish genetics and evolution; identification, characterization and conservation of fish stocks; evolution of structural and regulatory genes; behavioral genetics of fishes.

Christopher Phillips
Herpetologist, INHS

caphilli@illinois.edu

  Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics.

Charles Roseman
Associate Professor, Anthropology

croseman@illinois.edu

   

Steve Taylor
Macroinvertebrate Biologist, Illinois Natural History Survey

sjtaylor@illinois.edu

  Biota of caves, karst, groundwater, & other subterranean environments, especially where there is relevance to conservation and management issues.

David Wahl
Fishery Biologist, INHS

d-wahl@illinois.edu

  Application of ecological principles to fisheries management; role of predators in controlling community dynamics; behavioral ecology of fishes; bioenergetic and bioeconomic modeling.

Tandy Warnow
Founder Professor of Engineering

warnow@illinois.edu

  Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics.

 

 Emeriti/Retired

George Batzli
Professor Emeritus

g-batzli@illinois.edu

  Population, community, and behavioral ecology of mammals; plant-animal interactions; nutritional ecology of herbivores; artic evology.

Edward Brown
Associate Professor Emeritus

e-brown1@illinois.edu

 

Arthur L. DeVries
Professor Emeritus
17C Burrill Hall
(217) 333-4245

adevries@illinois.edu

  Antarctic and Arctic fish biology: Cold adaptation and biological antifreeze systems; ecological and evolutionary physiology; life histories of Antarctic notothenioid fish; expression of antifreeze proteins during development; protein structures and molecular mechanisms of antifreeze function. Field research in Antarctica and the Arctic.

Lowell Getz
Professor Emeritus

l-getz@illinois.edu

 

David Nanney
Professor Emeritus

d-nanney@illinois.edu

 

Lawrence Page
Professor Emeritus (Affiliate)

lpage@nsf.gov

  Systematics, evolution, and ecology of North American freshwater fishes and crayfishes; natural areas.

Patrick J. Weatherhead
Professor

pweather@illinois.edu

  Behavior, ecology, and conservation of snakes and birds.

Gregory S. Whitt
Professor Emeritus
469 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-4645

gswhitt@illinois.edu

  Evolutionary genetics and phylogenetic relationships of fishes. Isozymes and other molecular characters used to investigate evolutionary relationships and to infer patterns of gene structural and regulatory evolution. Biochemical genetics and evolution of teleosts.